### SUPREME COURT OF NORTH CAROLINA

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

NORTH CAROLINA LEAGUE OF CONSERVATION VOTERS, INC.; HENRY M. MICHAUX, JR., et al.,

Plaintiffs,

REBECCA HARPER, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

COMMON CAUSE,

Plaintiff-Intervenor,

v.

REPRESENTATIVE DESTIN HALL, in his official capacity as Chair of the House Standing Committee on Redistricting, et al.,

Defendants.

From Wake County

21 CVS 015426 21 CVS 500085

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

MOTION FOR LEAVE FOR URJA MITTAL TO WITHDRAW AS COUNSEL OF RECORD FOR NCLCV PLAINTIFFS

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

Counsel Urja Mittal, who currently represents Plaintiffs North Carolina League of Conservation Voters Inc., et al. ("NCLCV Plaintiffs"), pursuant to North Carolina Rules of Appellate Procedure 33(a), moves the Court to grant her leave to withdraw as counsel of record. The grounds for this are as follows:

- 1. Ms. Mittal will be departing Jenner & Block LLP.
- 2. Ms. Mittal's clients, the NCLCV Plaintiffs, have been notified and consent to this withdrawal.
- 3. The law firm of Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson, P.A. will continue to serve as counsel of record through John R. Wester, Adam K. Doerr, Stephen D. Feldman, and Erik R. Zimmerman, and the law firm of Jenner & Block LLP will continue to serve as counsel of record through Sam Hirsch, Jessica Ring Amunson, and Karthik Reddy.
- 4. The other Plaintiffs and Defendants in this case—Plaintiffs Rebecca Harper et al., Plaintiff Common Cause, the Legislative Defendants, and the State Defendants—have been informed and consent to this withdrawal.
- 5. The withdrawal will not have any effect on the appeals in these cases, which have been fully briefed, argued, and decided.

WHEREFORE, Urja Mittal, respectfully requests that the Court grant her leave to withdraw as counsel of record and such other and further relief as the Court deems just and proper. Respectfully submitted this 13th day of January, 2023.

#### ROBINSON, BRADSHAW & HINSON, P.A.

# **Electronically Submitted**

Stephen D. Feldman North Carolina Bar No. 34940 ROBINSON, BRADSHAW & HINSON, P.A. 434 Fayetteville Street Suite 1600 Raleigh, NC 27601 (919) 239-2600 sfeldman@robinsonbradshaw.com

N.C. R. App. 33(b) Certification: I certify that all of the attorneys listed below have authorized me to list their names on this document as if they had personally signed it:

John R. Wester
North Carolina Bar No. 4660
Adam K. Doerr
North Carolina Bar No. 37807
ROBINSON, BRADSHAW & HINSON, P.A.
101 North Tryon Street
Suite 1900
Charlotte, NC 28246
(704) 377-2536
jwester@robinsonbradshaw.com
adoerr@robinsonbradshaw.com

Erik R. Zimmerman North Carolina Bar No. 50247 ROBINSON, BRADSHAW & HINSON, P.A. 1450 Raleigh Road Suite 100 Chapel Hill, NC 27517 (919) 328-8800 ezimmerman@robinsonbradshaw.com

# JENNER & BLOCK LLP

Sam Hirsch\*
Jessica Ring Amunson\*
Karthik P. Reddy\*
Urja Mittal\*
JENNER & BLOCK LLP
1099 New York Avenue NW
Suite 900
Washington, D.C. 20001
(202) 639-6000
shirsch@jenner.com
jamunson@jenner.com
kreddy@jenner.com
umittal@jenner.com

 $Counsel\ for\ NCLCV\ Plaintiffs$ 

 $*Admitted\ pro\ hac\ vice$ 

#### CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Pursuant to Rule 26 of the North Carolina Rules of Appellate Procedure, I hereby certify that the foregoing document has been filed with the Clerk of the North Carolina Supreme Court by electronic submission. I further certify that a copy of this document has been duly served upon the following counsel of record by email:

Burton Craige
Narendra K. Ghosh
Paul E. Smith
PATTERSON HARKAVY LLP
100 Europa Drive, Suite 420
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
bcraige@pathlaw.com
nghosh@pathlaw.com
psmith@pathlaw.com

Lalitha D. Madduri Jacob D. Shelly Graham W. White ELIAS LAW GROUP LLP 10 G Street NE, Suite 600 Washington, DC 20002 lmadduri@elias.law jshelly@elias.law gwhite@elias.law

Abha Khanna ELIAS LAW GROUP LLP 1700 Seventh Avenue, Suite 2100 Seattle, WA 98101 akhanna@elias.law Phillip J. Strach Thomas A. Farr Gregory P. McGuire D. Martin Warf John E. Branch III Alyssa M. Riggins Nathaniel J. Pencook NELSON MULLINS RILEY & SCARBOROUGH LLP 4140 Parklake Avenue, Suite 200 Raleigh, NC 27612 phillip.strach@nelsonmullins.com tom.farr@nelsonmullins.com greg.mcguire@nelsonmullins.com martin.warf@nelsonmullins.com john.branch@nelsonmullins.com alyssa.riggins@nelsonmullins.com nate.pencook@nelsonmullins.com

Mark E. Braden
Katherine McKnight
Patrick T. Lewis
Sean Sandoloski
Richard Raile
BAKER HOSTETLER LLP
1050 Connecticut Avenue NW,
Suite 1100
Washington, DC 20036
mbraden@bakerlaw.com

Elisabeth S. Theodore R. Stanton Jones ARNOLD AND PORTER KAYE SCHOLER LLP 601 Massachusetts Avenue NW Washington, DC 20001-3743 elisabeth.theodore@arnoldporter.com stanton.jones@arnoldporter.com

Counsel for Plaintiffs Rebecca Harper, et al.

Hilary H. Klein
Mitchell Brown
Katelin Kaiser
Jeffrey Loperfido
Noor Taj
SOUTHERN COALITION FOR SOCIAL
JUSTICE
1415 W. Highway 54, Suite 101
Durham, NC 27707
hilaryhklein@scsj.org
mitchellbrown@scsj.org
katelin@scsj.org
jeffloperfido@scsj.org
noor@scjs.org

J. Tom Boer Olivia T. Molodanof HOGAN LOVELLS US LLP 3 Embarcadero Center, Suite 1500 San Francisco, CA 94111 tom.boer@hoganlovells.com olivia.molodanof@hoganlovells.com

Counsel for Plaintiff Common Cause

kmcknight@bakerlaw.com plewis@bakerlaw.com ssandoloski@bakerlaw.com rraile@bakerlaw.com

Counsel for Plaintiffs Representative Destin Hall, Senator Warren Daniel, Senator Ralph E. Hise, Jr., Senator Paul Newton, Representative Timothy K. Moore, and Senator Phillip E. Berger

Terence Steed
Stephanie Brennan
Amar Majmundar
N.C. DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Post Office Box 629
Raleigh, NC 27502-0629
tsteed@ncdoj.gov
sbrennan@ncdoj.gov
amajmundar@ncdoj.gov

Counsel for Defendants North Carolina State Board of Elections, Damon Circosta, Stella Anderson, Jeff Carmon III, Stacy Eggers IV, Tommy Tucker, Karen Brinson Bell; and the State of North Carolina This 13th day of January, 2023.

Electronically Submitted
Stephen D. Feldman
Attorney for NCLCV Plaintiffs